Self-test

So psyched to be blogging for the first time! Stepping out of my comfort zone sure isn’t easy but i’m stoked to be trying something new.

For the first lesson, we were told to rate ourselves on our current level of digital literacy at the start of this module (1- no experience, 5- very experienced). Below are my results!

  • Accessing, managing and evaluating online information (Rating: 3) – I use Google daily, where information is readily available at our fingertips. However my main issue is to validate the information online as not all sources are credible.
  • Participating in online communities (Rating: 1) – Definitely a passive follower in online communities, never once contributed to any posts.
  • Building online networks around an area of interest (Rating: 1) – I have never built any online networks even though I’ve heard quite a lot about it from friends. I’m keen to work on this area and who knows it may spark relationships with people who share the same interests as I do?
  • Collaborating with others (Rating: 3) – Do sharing files on Google docs and Dropbox count? These are probably the only two platforms I used when collaborating with my peers for group projects.
  • Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) (Rating: 2) – Considering how technology is so widely used in my generation, I am not quite a techie person. The only time I was exposed was to create a video for an assignment back in Polytechnic. I struggled quite a bit and eventually got my way around with the help from none other than Google.
  • Managing your online identity (Rating: 4) – I do manage a couple of social media platforms – Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat, all for my personal use and for friends to have a peek into my life. Looking into creating a LinkedIn profile when I start working to establish connections with professionals in the industry.
  • Managing your online privacy and security (Rating: 3) – I am extra careful when it comes to my privacy settings in all of my social media platforms. But I guess having these platforms on private isn’t enough in today’s digital age. I ever googled my name and saw several photos of myself on the page. Says a lot doesn’t it?

That’s all for now. Stay connected!

Leave a Reply

